Children are the future.

I’m sure a lot of you have seen the viral video “Look up” by Gary Turk. It shows us what we have become thanks to the technology we use everyday. I personally think it’s sad when I see children would rather play inside on the computer than go outside and play games with their friends and family.

For those who haven’t seen it, here’s the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7dLU6fk9QY 

I had such a strong response to this video, that I couldn’t help but write a poem of my own and I’d like to share it with you all. It concentrates on children being children and their right to be playful. I’m not a poet by any means, but I’ve done my best to try and show how I feel children should spend their childhood. 

Children are the future

So why do we insist on putting them in front of a computer?

Of course technology can be useful

But shouldn’t children just be playful?

 

You don’t have to be extravagant to entertain

For God’s sake, kids just love playing in the rain

Digging up worms and kicking a football

Watching children at play is simply beautiful

 

Get involved in the play, inspire their imagination

Allow your inner child to take over and you will find that being a child is pure elation

Their childhood is short, it won’t last forever

But when they’re older they can use a computer whenever

 

This is why I won’t give my 5 year old child an iPad

Their active minds stuck inside would just be sad

With their eyes glued to a screen for 10 hours a day

How can they appreciate their short childhood this way?

 

If their dreams consist of first person shooters or cut the rope

I’d worry about their future, would there be any hope?

Their minds need to be molded by role models not a device

Show them how to climb a tree, teach them how to skate on ice

 

A wasted childhood should be a crime

All it takes is a little bit of time

Football, games, pantomime and more

Take your childs hand and open the door.

 

Leave a Reply

