Powerful Suggestion: Don’t Rush!

What’s the one piece of advice you wish someone had given you a year (or five, or ten…) ago?

When I finished my GCSE’s back in ‘07 I moved onto Sixth Form, there were a lot of subjects that were new to me. Psychology, Film Studies, Business Studies and more. I guess for me, I wish someone had told me to not get overwhelmed by the new subjects. Of course I could pick whatever I wanted and I was a little spoiled for choice.

I picked the three subjects mentioned above and until starting Sixth Form, I had never touched those subjects before. Needless to say that I got overwhelmed and I regretted picking two of the three classes.

I’ll admit right now that I am not the smartest person in the World. I despise Maths and I love English. While my Father has a Masters Degree in Maths…I’d rather read Shakespeare.

Picking new subjects seemed like a good idea at the time, but as I quickly discovered those subjects were not for me and neither was Sixth Form. I wish someone had grabbed me by the shoulders and told me to pick subjects that I knew I would do well in.

If they had, things would have probably been different. I would have finished Sixth Form and gone to University like a good little girl. But instead I dropped out and worked instead, taking every day as it came and tried to figure out what I wanted to do.

I guess the moral of the story is, think before you act. In every respect. When it comes to education, play it safe. You can always learn the new subjects later, but for now, stick to what you know best and get the best grades possible.

I spent the years trying and failing and I’m sure as hell paying the price for it now. While I may not be in thousands of pounds worth of debt, I also don’t have any qualifications to my name. I have experience in many fields and I have many skills, but no certificate to prove that I can do them. I don’t regret what I did because I believe that everything happens for a reason.

Think about your options and don’t rush into a decision! If you do make a mistake, don’t fret, don’t regret. You will learn something from every decision.

Leave a Reply

