Lost Treasure – Daily Prompt

While walking on the beach you stumble on a valuable object buried in the sand — say, a piece of jewelry or an envelope full of cash. What do you do with it? Under what circumstances would you keep it?

This has actually happened to me once before. It was a long time ago, way back in Primary School, I was around 9 years old and in the playground I found a 5 pound note! A whole five pounds! To a 9 year old that’s a heck of a lot.

While a lot of children may have pocketed the cash, I picked it up and took it to the school receptionist. She filled out a little ticket for me, as the rule was, if it wasn’t claimed in a week, the person who found it…could keep it!

A week rolled by and the assembly was underway! Once a week, if they had an item that was lost and not claimed, they would give it to the pupil who found it and celebrate that they did the right thing! My name was called and the five pound note I had found a week previous was once again in my hands! But not only did I have a bit of extra pocket money, I was also congratulated on being an honest person and doing the right thing. To me, that was the real reward. 

Another example of an honest finder:

My father once dropped an envelope of money out of his back pocket, while we were holidaying in Wales. It was all the money we had for our week away and he never even realised it was gone. As we walked down the street a man ran up behind us shouting and he returned the envelope of money to my father.

If you find something, sure you could keep it, but I don’t believe “Finders keepers” should be a thing. I think it’s much more rewarding to do the right thing. You never know what could happen if you return that envelope of money, or that necklace. Nature has a way of rewarding you.

5 thoughts on “Lost Treasure – Daily Prompt

  1. Pingback: Prairie Views

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Finders, Keepers? – The paths are strewn with souvenirs if you are lucky | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Argh… | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: That Annoying Conscience Thing | Rain's Writing Realm

  5. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Finders, Keepers? | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

