“All The Gear and No Idea”

“All the gear and no idea” is a saying that is usually associated with the sporting world. It simply means what it says. A person has all the gear of a professional, but they have no idea what they’re supposed to do.

I’ve been involved in the horse world for quite some time now. I’ve worked at riding schools, livery yards and international competition yards. While my knowledge is vast, I do not claim to be anything I am not. I don’t know everything and I welcome advice when it is needed.

However, on every yard (no matter what type of yard it is) you will always have at least one person that has all the equipment, but has no idea what to do. I’ve seen it numerous times and while it’s worrying for a rider to do this, it’s even more worrying for a horse owner to have no idea.

Owning a horse and being involved in a yard can be a very stressful hobby. Your horse gets injured, you’re not performing as well as you’d like and the yard snob (there’s always one) insists that her horse is superior to every other horse. But nothing is worse than an owner who doesn’t know how to look after a living creature. A living creature that could kill you with one swift kick, remember.

It’s all well and good showing off, but please be safe and don’t pretend to be something you are not. There is nothing more dangerous than an ignorant owner and when something bad does happen, your fellow yard mates will simply stand back and say “We told you so”. On the yard, you never stop learning and there will always be somebody who genuinely knows more than you.

But this saying goes for all kinds of things. For instance, I occasionally go to the driving range, but I don’t claim to know everything about golf…because I don’t. I own one driver club, a glove and some soft golf balls for practice at home and that’s it. I don’t own an entire club set, because I simply don’t need it. One club is enough (for me) to whack a few golf balls at the range.

When it comes to any sport or profession that I am involved in…I have the required gear and a reasonable amount of knowledge. I’m also not afraid to admit when I’m out of my depth.

If you know someone who is a prime example of “All the gear and no idea”, maybe remind them that ignorance isn’t all it’s cracked up to be? I’ve just told a few people that I know, with this post. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

