Boredom. My Big Problem.

We all have our own strengths and weaknesses. For me, my biggest weakness is probably boredom. It follows me everywhere I go.

There’s two questions in job interviews, that I can never answer. The first, “Where do you see yourself in five years?” And the second, “What is a weakness of yours?”

The reason I hate these questions is simple, my weakness is I get bored way too quickly and due to this fact, I probably won’t last five years doing the same job every. Single. Day. So where do I see myself in five years? Probably doing something I’ve never done before because new is not boring…until it becomes boring. I’ll give you an example.

I worked in a bar, I had never done bar work before, so pulling pints, making mixers or coffee’s, was all brand new to me. It was stressful and exciting. I was there for a few months enjoying the work, until I had learnt everything there was to learn in that job. The moment I stop learning new things, that’s it. I must move on.

I had the same problem when I became a chef and the problem followed me yet again when I moved into retail.

The only time I don’t really get bored, is when i’m writing. When you write, no day repeats itself. You’re writing NEW sentences, going on NEW adventures every day and if you’re doing a good job of it, you will never live the same day twice.

Of course I have my moments of “I can’t be bothered today” But that’s natural and I don’t tend to worry if I do have an ‘off’ day because odds are I’ll more than make up for it the next day.

I know that writing belongs in my life in some sense, whether it’s professionally or not. I know this because ideas wake me up in the middle of the night. I have a desire to write and the reward of simply making a reader smile is enough. I am not doing this for money, or anything like that. I am doing all of these projects, because I love it.

With all that being said, I leave you with these simple words:

“Do something you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.”

 

Leave a Reply

