My Three Golden Tricks

Getting into a steady writing flow is hard, especially when you’re faced with a blank document. I often find that I’m sitting in front of my computer for up to an hour before I finally begin to type the words that are locked up inside. While an hour is a long time to be sitting, stewing over what you’re trying to say, it is sometimes necessary.

Finding inspiration can be just as difficult as writing the words, but I have been able to find a couple of tricks to help the words flow effortlessly. While these tricks work for me, I am interested to hear of what other writers do to get their fingers dancing on the keyboard.

 

My first trick is to open Spotify and play music, any music will do. It’s either the latest hits in the chart, or movie soundtracks. My choice changes every day and sometimes it depends on what I am writing. If I am faced with a dramatic scene my usual choice of music is The Game of Thrones Soundtrack or any soundtrack by Howard Shore.

Listening to music helps me to concentrate, I spend a little bit of time listening to the music with my eyes closed and my hands on the keyboard and when I know what I want to write, my fingers will begin to type. Closing your eyes and letting the words find you is incredibly effective and this method has helped me get out of “writers block” quickly.

My second trick is used when I am trying to think of ideas, whether it’s a plot point, or the way a new World will work. It’s a simple trick that most of us will be able to do and it can take as long as you wish it to.

It is quite simply, going for a walk. The fresh air and the time you have alone with your thoughts really helps the inspiration for what you’re working on, or planning. My walks tend to last approximately 25 minutes, but if I’m really stuck, I will go on long rambles with the dog and will be out in the Countryside for an hour at least.

Going on walks has helped me in many ways. If I don’t think about anything in particular on the walk, when I get back to my desk the words seem to flow every easily. It seems that fresh air isn’t just good for your lungs.

The third and final trick is not really a trick at all, but more of a personal rule. I know that a lot of people say “You should write every day” and I do agree with this, to an extent. However I will never “force” myself to write if the words aren’t coming to me. I never want to waste time writing words that may not be any good. Writing is a very isolated and lonely job, so I don’t believe in wasting time on something that you’re not going to be happy with; that time is better spent being social or doing something equally as productive, or relaxing.

Taking a day or two off is not a bad thing, it can actually be very refreshing. Coming back to your work and looking at it with a “fresh pair of eyes” is very good for your work. You may find something that you thought was excellent, but upon inspection you realise doesn’t work.

So those are my three golden tips to getting a good days work under your belt. I’m interested to see if anyone else has the same tricks or if you have any different tricks to getting something done.

Leave a Reply

