Healthy Relationships – 50 Shades

With 50 Shades of Grey coming out in cinemas, I decided that I would express some thoughts on the phenomenon that is Mr Grey. Of course I have friends that have enjoyed the books and while I shook my head at them, I supported their right to enjoy a book about a sex addicted control freak. Having said this I think there is some hidden danger within this franchise.

Now don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with erotic fiction at all and it’s not the sex that really bothers me. I’ve never personally read any as it’s not my cup of tea, but again I do have friends that enjoy it. I do believe however that you have to handle such a delicate subject with care.

The same goes for your romantic relationships. Everyone dreams of having that special someone in their lives, that one person that treats them like a princess or prince. So why is everyone so hot for Mr Grey? He doesn’t make his lover feel special, instead he indulges in emotional abuse, but manages to do it in such a way that it doesn’t seem obvious to his victim as he left confused and conflicted over what to do.

From experience, I have learnt that your relationship should be comfortable, loving and caring. You should never feel as if you are doing things you don’t want to do and you most certainly shouldn’t be forced to do something.

With this in mind, it makes the 50 shades and Mr Grey’s antics all the more disturbing. But, if you are a fan and you are planning on seeing the film, please keep in mind that the story does not portray a healthy relationship, remember that it is fiction and that if you’re forced into an uncomfortable situation, you do not have to say yes. No one controls you and you have every single right to leave; whether it be for the night or for good.

 

Be safe and smart when you’re meeting new people and if you are concerned about your current relationship, there are people you can talk to.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Relationships – 50 Shades

Leave a Reply

