Be Different, Say Something Nice.

If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.

 

A phrase that has followed me throughout my life and a lifestyle I try to live. It should be a lesson in schools that kindness is the only option and if you do have a desire to be cruel, you are to be silent until the moment passes.

I know we’re not all perfect and we’re all bound to make a mistake every now and then; after all that is life. We learn from our mistakes and we grow into who we wish to be; or that’s what we’re supposed to do.

It’s easier and safer to be cruel now, the internet is a window into peoples lives and we can choose to comment on their lives in whatever way we wish to. Hiding behind a screen and saying nasty things is extremely easy, I’m sure we have all done it at least once during our internet lives.

Having said this, there is still a lot of cruelty in the World, you only have to turn on the News to see that. One of the most recent acts of mindless cruelty occurred in Paris, a young Chelsea fan was refused entry onto a train as men pushed him away from it shouting “we’re racist, we’re racist and that’s the way we like it.”

When I saw this on the news, I sighed. Racism? Really? Is this not 2015? Then again, I suppose Football Thugs will always be around.

I do apologise, but if you are indeed racist, then what do you think of the Chelsea players? I’m afraid you cannot be racist if you want to be a Football fan, it’s impossible and quite simply contradictory.

I mean, is it really so thrilling to be a bully? Is it not more rewarding to be kind to someone? There’s a lot of stupidity and selfishness in this World and as everyday passes I worry for the future state this World will be in. Of course the majority of us want it to improve, but do we actually do anything to improve it?

What kind act have you done in the last 24 hours?

Why can we not all just get along and be kind to one another, even if it’s just for a moment. The next time you have an inkling to say a nasty, rude, or even racist comment to somebody; whether it be in person or over the internet, just take a moment to think:

What gives me the right to pass judgement on this person? I think you’ll find that saying nothing and moving on is the better option to take.

 

Source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-31564836

Leave a Reply

