Long Distance Love

Long distance relationships are far from easy, in fact you could say they’re nearly impossible and I have to be honest, I never thought I’d see myself in one; not to mention one that’s lasted over a year! Long distance is very different to a normal relationship, it requires a lot of trust and a crap tonne (that’s a legitimate measurement, honest) of patience. Having said this, they are brilliant tests for how strong the relationship with your partner is.

Communication is important, but it’s not do or die. If you’re in a long distance relationship, the chances are that you enjoy your own space and your own company this probably goes for your partner as well. It’s very difficult, but also important to remember that even the smallest bit of communication counts.

Trust is probably, no, definitely the most crucial part of any partnership and it’s even more important when your partner isn’t near you most of the time. It’s very difficult to keep your mind from wandering towards dark thoughts, it is perfectly natural, the trick is to push those thoughts to the back of your mind and expel them.

When people ask me how I met my other half, I never know how to respond because I worry that they won’t understand and I’d have to explain how and why in great detail. The truth is, I met him on a public Minecraft server…that’s right, Minecraft! And i’m very thankful for it, without it I would never have met him, or the wonderful friends I have.

It doesn’t matter how you met, how far away you are or how hard it can be sometimes, what matters is that you care and support one another in everything you do. Communicate, trust and love each other and you will surely be successful at the dreaded Long Distance Relationship!

Leave a Reply

