5 Films I’ll Always Enjoy

There are thousands of films to experience, but we all have our favourites that we always go back to. Here I have picked, in no particular order, 5 of my favourite films, they’re all very different but equally enjoyable.

 

Labyrinth

I don’t think I have to really say much about this film, it is truly a classic from the 80’s. It is a favourite in our household, I mean, come on, who doesn’t love a bit of David Bowie, right? The music in this film is catchy, the puppets are wonderful and the adventure that Sarah embarks on never gets old. If you’re a Jim Henson fan and you haven’t seen this film, you need to change that. This is truly a Henson classic, he reminds me of the babe.

 

Lock Stock & Two Smoking Barrels

A very different film from all of the others on this list, but bear with me here. This film is witty, gritty and while it may not be to everyone’s taste, I personally find this one of the perfect films to put on if you’re in the mood for some gritty humour. I was first introduced to this film while studying film in college and I fell in love. Vinnie Jones, Jason Statham, Sting…I mean, what’s not to love? There isn’t a British film that is quite like this, it is unique and will always have a place in my collection.

 

Spaceballs

When will then be now? Soon! This spoof has to be my favourite, forget Scary Movie, this is the master of spoofs. It is still relevant today and as long as Star Wars is around, it always will be. Mel Brooks at his best, in my opinion, it far suppasses Blazing Saddles and Men in Tights. The graphics may not have aged well, but the comedy is always on point and that is the most important part of this film. It’s not scared to break the fourth wall and it pulls every joke off perfectly. A must see for any spoof fan. May the schwartz be with you!

 

Anastasia

Okay so this is very different, but if you have ever seen this film, you will know that it is a beautiful, emotional, witty film with plenty of charm and character. A 1998 Academy Award winner for it’s score, this film is without a doubt one of the most memorable films of my childhood. Forget about the history and just get lost in the mesmerizing music and the stunning animation. I will always hold this film close to my heart and I truly hope that future generations will love it as much as my generation did.

 

A Knight’s Tale

My lords, my ladies and everybody else not sitting on a cushion, I present the wonderful, flawless work of Heath Ledger, Paul Bettany, Mark Addy and Alan Tudyk. Where do I even begin with this film, it is simply perfection. Every performance is just amazing, there are no other words to describe it. This was the first film I saw with Heath Ledger and naturally I immediately fell in love with his incredible acting ability. If you are a fan of any of the actors in this film, you will most certainly enjoy this film, I guarantee it! Ulrich Von Lichtenstein (William) and his faithful friends will steal your hearts with their cheeky personalities and witty banter. I don’t know if there is anything to not like about this film. Watch it, you will not regret it.

Leave a Reply

