My Toothy Ordeal

So back in May I had to get my two bottom wisdom teeth removed. It was the first time I had ever had surgery, or been put under! Needless to say, I was petrified, but everything everyone was telling me was spot on and it wasn’t the surgery I should have been worrying about.

I don’t even remember going to sleep on the bed, I just remember having a mask put over my face, 3-4 people gathered around me, watching me and then…I woke up in a different place, with a different face staring at me! I didn’t hear anything, or feel anything. But when I did wake, I felt panicked as I had a tight mask over my face and I thought I wasn’t breathing.

Fast forward a few hours and I’m home, in bed, not really sure what’s going on. I slept A LOT and ate, very little. I was on a cocktail of Co-codamol and Ibuprofen for about 2 weeks and my diet was limited to runny scrambled eggs, yogurts, mashed potato and soup. I watched the entire first season of Once Upon A Time in 2 days, as well as countless films and quite a few hours playing Euro Truck Simulator (don’t drive while under the influence kids!).

The pain was near unbearable and the frustration that builds with not being able to eat was… frustrating. Never have I wanted a packet of crisps SO MUCH before. It was ridiculous. But I think it was the stitches that annoyed me the most. The pain was handled with the medication, but the stitches…just being able to feel something in your mouth that doesn’t belong, is so uncomfortable, I can’t begin to describe it.

I was beginning to panic after a week as my dissolvable stitches, weren’t…disolving! It was the knots that were taking their time and in the end I noticed that they were no longer attached to anything…but stuck behind my back molars. Enter Mr toothbrush! He saved the day and the stitches and the horrible smell and taste, were gone!

It takes a long time for the gums to heal, it has been nearly 10 weeks since mine were removed and I still have to rinse my mouth from trapped food. Very annoying!

To those who have to have tooth surgery, don’t worry about the actual operation and just concentrate on getting better. It will be frustrating, but when it’s over, you will feel so much better and eating real food will have never been so good! Enjoy the tonnes of sleep you’ll get and the unlimited Netflix (if you don’t have it, get it, it’s a real boredom breaker!).

Leave a Reply

