Update – Littlewolf & The Names

This post was supposed to be out on Saturday, but after two weeks of nearly none stop writing, I needed the little break that Sunday offered me. But 9 Chapters, approximately 45,000 words has been completed and I have 5,000 words to go and then the editing begins this Wednesday.

It’s very exciting to be so close to finishing Littlewolf, as I have been taking my time with it for over 2 years. I thought I’d never finish it. My ability to procrastinate often overshadows my need to write and so my progress with anything is usually very slow. But I started writing down word goals for every writing day and I didn’t think it would help me fend off the procrastination demon. But it really did! Never have I ever written 6 days a week, for 2 weeks solid. And that may not sound like a lot to some people, but for me, Princess Procrastination, it is a whole butt tonne.

cxplagcxaaez_c1

Since the last update, I finished Chapters 8 and 9 and this is when things really start to kick off. Our group of heroes reach the Volcano and their most dangerous task stands before them. I’m not going to reveal too much because major spoilers! But I will say it’s intense and emotional.

Below I thought I would reveal a little information about the names of the characters, as they are so unusual. I didn’t just pick any old name; a lot of thought went into the main characters and their names are a big part of who they are.

The names of characters are always important to the story. We follow the characters from the beginning to the end of their journey and we grow attached to them. If we forget the plot of a book or a film, we’ll always remember the main character names.

But I’ve found the names for Littlewolf a little more difficult than usual. It’s set in a time where native tribes are still strong, so I couldn’t have names like Bob or Diane. I have, however used names that describe the character.

A character that is introduced in Chapter 4 is called Hania, which means Spirit Warrior. And while he isn’t exactly a spirit, knowing the meaning of his name, will make sense to you when you meet him.

I found all of my character names (apart from Littlewolf herself) from google searches of Native names, both American and Canadian. Although I find Canadian names much more difficult to find, which is why I changed to American.

Jaawaso is spelled phonetically and is actually spelled Gizhaawaso. I did this for ease of reading, but if her character had have played a small part, I probably would have left it with its original spelling. Her name simply means ‘protects her young’ and Ogimaa means ‘chief’ or ‘king’.

Some names may change before I finish writing Littlewolf, but for the most part I am happy with my characters, their names and what they stand for.

Littlewolf and The Broken Veil Chapters 1-3 are available to read here:

https://www.inkshares.com/books/littlewolf-and-the-broken-veil

 

Featured Image from Google.

Leave a Reply

